Skip to content

Congratulations to Dr. Leena Pattarkine and Dr. Rachel Fogle of the Harrisburg University of Science and Technology faculty for paving the way for future women in STEM!  The professors are being honored at the Whitaker Center 2022 Women in STEM Awards.

Pattarkine was selected as the recipient in the Legacy “WhitaHER” category.  The “WhitakHER” award is presented to a woman who has demonstrated superior leadership and has a significant track record of long-term achievements/accomplishments in STEM. 

Dr. Fogle is in the Women to Watch Class of 2022.  This award is bestowed on women under 40 who have made significant accomplishments in their STEM fields.

Dr. Pattarkine leads the University’s Biotechnology programs, as well as the Capital Area Biotechnology Partnership and hosts the annual Pennsylvania BioGENEius Challenge. A mentor to many students, Fogle is associate professor of Biological Sciences and leads the University’s hydroponics and aquaponics programs.

The event takes place September 21, 2022, 5-7 PM  at the Whitaker Center in Harrisburg.  More information is found online at


Accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education, Harrisburg University is a private nonprofit university offering bachelor and graduate degree programs in science, technology, and math fields. For more information on the University’s affordable demand-driven undergraduate and graduate programs, call 717-901-5146 or email, Follow on Twitter (@HarrisburgU) and Facebook (